Units of Storage / Memory Measurement

By | March 27, 2012

What are commonly used units of measuring storage?


Bit is a short for Binary Digit. 0 and 1 are the only binary digits. Bit is the smallest unit of measuring storage capacity. A bit can hold a 0 or 1.


A combination of 8 bits is called a Byte. A byte can hold one character.
1 Byte = 8 bits

Kilobyte (KB)

1024 bytes make one kilo byte. Kilo Byte is denoted by KB.
1 KB = 1024 Bytes

Megabyte (MB)

1024 Kilo bytes make one mega byte. Mega Byte is denoted by MB.
1 MB = 1024 KB

Gigabyte (GB)

1024 mega bytes make one Giga byte. Giga Byte is denoted by GB. 
1 GB = 1024 MB

Terabyte (TB)

1024 Giga bytes make one Tera byte. Tera Byte is denoted by TB. 
1 TB = 1024 GB

Petabyte (PB)

1024 Tera Bytes make one Peta byte. Peta Byte is denoted by PB. 
1 PB = 1024 TB

Exabyte (EB)

1024 Peta bytes make one Exa byte. Exa Byte is denoted by EB. 
1 EB = 1024 PB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *